Herreshoff S-Class of Western Long Island Sound
2013 Recap and Looking Forward to 2014 Season

The 2013 season saw several winners of awards. Bill Riley and team aboard Danae won the
and Fall Season Series, Wynne Simmons won the Crew Trophy, Jeff Whittle won the
Holiday Series aboard
Aeolus and Kirsty Scott won the Indian Harbor Classic Yacht Regatta
Eaglet. Summer Series and fleet honors were won by Sean Park and crew Shane
Parouse, Alex Von Bidder and Bill Garbus
aboard Dilemma with second taken by Howard T.
Howard and Bill Simmons on

New spinnakers were flow
n for the first time to glowing reviews. Increased area, bigger
shoulders and new material proved superior to the previous design resulting in better
control and speed. Thank you to Butch Ulmer of UK
Sailmakers on City Island for building a
better solution!

George and Eric Hansen will be back on the line this season aboard
Phoenix after a one-year
hiatus, while Bob Mehlich sports a new and improved
Kandahar II.